Sunday, July 21, 2024

Karnataka CM Race: Siddaramaiah to be the next chief minister and DK Shivakumar to take oath as deputy CM; details here

Karnataka CM Race: Siddaramaiah will be the next chief minister of Karnataka and DK Shivakumar will be his deputy, reports said. 

The Congress party has reached the decision with the two leaders agreeing to a rotational formula. Siddaramaiah will be the CM for a period of 2.5 years. After which, Shivakumar will take over as the CM. 

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge worked late into the night on Wednesday to break the political deadlock over the next CM in Karnataka and reached a consensus for government formation.

Siddaramaiah is a mass leader who joined the Grand Old Party in 2006 after his ouster from former Prime Minister Deve Gowda’s JD(S).

On the other hand, DK Shivakumar, the eight-time MLA from Kanakapura constituency, is one of the richest politicians with a strong base.

The oath-taking ceremony will take place on Saturday, May 20, 2023 in Bengaluru.

The party has called a Congress Legislative Party (CLP) meeting in Bengaluru on Thursday at 7 pm.

Earlier on Wednesday, Congress’ Karnataka-in-charge Randeep Surjewala said that a decision on the next Karnataka chief minister will be announced today or tomorrow and a new cabinet will be in place within 72 hours.

After a period of 34 years, in the Karnataka Assembly Elections 2023, Congress has emerged victorious with a significant vote share and number of seats. The party claimed 136 seats way past the halfway mark of 113, according to the Election Commission’s data.

Catch all the Politics News and Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates & Live Business News.


#Karnataka #Race #Siddaramaiah #chief #minister #Shivakumar #oath #deputy #details

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles